School Program

School Programs

The IB Diploma Programme is recognized around the world as a rigorous and efficacious college and university preparation program. Students graduate from Qatar Academy ready to face the demands of university life in terms of academic preparedness, but also in terms of how well they know themselves and their learning styles.

The Qatar Academy IB program's strength, and what sets it apart from other pre-college and university programs, is its comprehensive curriculum. Students are required to study English, a second language (Arabic, French or Spanish), math, science, humanities and an elective subject of their choice. Electives can include visual arts, theater and music or a second science or humanities subject. Students are also required to write a 4,000-word research paper on a subject of their choice, an area in which Qatar Academy students excel. 

This record of academic excellence is also evident in the final results of the IB Diploma examinations. QA students consistently perform at a standard above the world average and have gained entry to Ivy League universities in the US, Russell Group universities in the UK, Education City universities in Qatar and the most prestigious universities in Canada and Australia.

IB Diploma teachers at Qatar Academy cooperatively plan and assess students’ work to ensure that learning opportunities and grading are consistent and accurate. Teamwork is at the heart of what we do and as a team we help produce caring, motivated young people who are equipped to take up leadership positions locally and around the world.

Curriculum Documents

Qatar Academy uses a curriculum which has been specially developed to meet international standards and the needs of our students. The content of this curriculum is taught and assessed using pedagogies supported by the International Baccalaureate programs. At Qatar Academy, the two years of the IB Diploma are taken in Grades 11 and 12. Each student is required to take six academic subjects, and in addition must follow a two-year course in Theory of Knowledge, write an Extended Essay and participate in the CAS (Creativity, Action, Service) programme.


Language and literature
Language A: literature SL/HL
Language A: language rel="noopener noreferrer" and literature SL/HL


Language acquisition
Language rel="noopener noreferrer" B SL/HL
Language rel="noopener noreferrer" ab initio SL

Individuals and societies
Business management SL/HL
Economics SL/HL
Geography SL/HL
History SL/HL
Information technology in a global society SL/HL
Sciences
Biology SL/HL
Chemistry SL/HL
Environmental systems and societies SL
Physics SL/HL

Mathematics
Further mathematics 
HL
Mathematical studies SL
Mathematics SL/HL

Arts

Film SL/HL
Music SL/HL
Theatre SL/HL
Visual arts SL/HL

All of the above are IB documents and are available at  www.ibo.org

pdf Diploma Handbook

The IB Middle years Programme (MYP) at Qatar Academy has been carefully planned to ensure that our students become caring, knowledgeable, open-minded, balanced, principled, and reflective young adults. We teach our young people to think critically, inquire into important issues, communicate well in at least two languages, and take calculated risks.

 

With access to over 60 community service, athletic, and academic after-school activities and several opportunities to travel the world in the Week Without Walls program, students are challenged well beyond the curriculum of an ordinary school. The student e-portfolios and student-led conference structure ensures that the focus is consistently on learning and growing while acquiring the grades and skills necessary to reach the IB Diploma Programme and attend the world’s most elite colleges and universities. In addition to eight required subject groups (Language and Literature, Language Acquisition, Individuals and Societies, Science, Physical Health Education, Mathematics, Arts and Design). Islamic and Arabic Cultural Studies classes are required, ensuring that knowledge of the local culture is attained by all students.

 

MYP teachers at Qatar Academy cooperatively plan and assess students’ work to ensure that learning opportunities and grading are consistent and accurate. The moderation process in grade 10 also ensures that a 7 at Qatar Academy is equivalent to a 7 anywhere in the IB world. With a number of teachers involved in larger IB initiatives, Qatar Academy’s MYP has been hailed as the leading program in the region and one that other schools aspire to replicate.


Curriculum Documents


Qatar Academy uses a curriculum which has been specially developed to meet international standards and the needs of our students. The content of this curriculum is taught and assessed using pedagogies supported by the International Baccalaureate programs.

Arts

Design

I & S 

Interdisciplinary learning

Language acquisition

Language & literature

Mathematics

Personal project

Physical Health & Education 

Sciences 

pdf QAD MYP Handbook

Qatar Academy Student Services teams work to foster and increase interpersonal competencies and sustain scholastic achievement. Qatar Academy sees students as well-rounded individuals and as such provides services that focus on social and emotional development and health related issues, as well as providing support in areas of academic learning.
The Counseling team of Student Services helps to facilitate International Baccalaureate (IB) PYP and MYP attitudes and social and emotional competencies through skill building activities that are taught to whole classes, small groups or individuals. Parenting workshops or Coffee and Chat sessions are offered over the year where Counselors are available to meet with parents concerning their child's progress and/or emotional development. Counselors have a highly visible presence around Qatar Academy and practice an ‘open door policy’ where they are readily available to meet with students on a one-to-one basis. As students enter the Diploma Program, in Grades 11-12, counseling services continue to be an integral part of scholastic success. During these critical years Counselors work closely with each individual student to ensure college readiness and to help guide all students through the university application process. Qatar Academy has a nearly 100% college matriculation rate and past records show our graduates have entered universities on five different continents.
The Learning Support team of Student Services provides support for students that complement the classroom program. A multi-disciplinary approach is utilized to provide specialized learning support to students and parents. This student support may occur, for example, when students experience problems with their learning or when they need to be academically challenged to reach their full potential. In addition specialized teaching and learning support is provided to teachers. Members of the Learning Support team are specialist teachers who come from a range of fields such as Early Childhood Development, English Acquisition, Mathematics Acquisition, and Differentiation.
Qatar Academy Student Services also includes our School Nurses whose main role is to support students and families regarding health issues. Both Primary and Senior campuses have Family Affairs Coordinators who work to promote and foster a positive relationship between Qatar Academy and its Qatari families.
Qatar Academy Student Services include such programs as:

 

  • Anti-bullying campaign
  • Personal/individual counseling
  • Crisis Intervention – when and as required
  • Psycho-educational assessment
  • Speech and language specialist service
  • New student orientation
  • Academic counseling
  • Career pathways workshop/counseling
  • Peer Helper and Student Ambassador Programs
  • College Guidance Workshops
  • University Tours and Fairs

School Program

برنامج المدرسة

برنامج دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية

يعرف برنامج دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية في جميع أنحاء العالم كبرنامج إعداد الطلاب للجامعات النخبة. يتخرج الطلاب من أكاديمية قطر الدوحة وهم على استعداد تام لمواجهة مطالب الحياة الجامعية ليس فقط من حيث التأهب الأكاديمي لكن أيضا من حيث مدى معرفتهم بأنفسهم وأنماط التعلم الخاصة بهم

إن ما يميز برنامج الباكالوريا الدولية بأكاديمية قطر عن غيره من البرامج الأخرى التي تقدم قبل انتساب الطلاب للكليات والجامعات هو منهجه الشامل حيث يطلب من الطلاب دراسة اللغة الإنجليزية واللغة الثانية (العربية والفرنسية أو الإسبانية) والرياضيات والعلوم والعلوم الإنسانية وموضوع اختياري من اختيارهم بحيث يمكن أن تشمل الفنون البصرية والمسرح والموسيقى أو العلوم الإنسانية. كذلك يطلب من الطلاب أيضا كتابة ورقة بحثية مكونة من 4000 كلمة حول موضوع يختارونه، وهو مجال يتفوق فيه طلاب أكاديمية قطر

هذا السجل من التميز الأكاديمي هو أيضا واضح في النتائج النهائية لامتحانات دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية حيث أن أداء طلابا باستمرار بمستوى أعلى من المتوسط العالمي ساعدهم بالحصول على فرص قبول في نخبة الجامعات في الولايات المتحد ة والمملكة المتحدة، وجامعات المدينة التعليمية وأرقى الجامعات في كندا وأستراليا

يحرص معلمي مرحلة الباكالوريا الدولية في أكاديمية قطر على تقييم عمل الطلاب بالتعاون مع بعضهم وذلك لضمان حصولهم على فرص التعلم عادلة .هنا في أكاديمية قطر – الدوحة نعمل بروح الفريق الواحد كي نوفر الرعاية والاهتمام للطلاب بحيث يصبحوا مجهزين لتولي المناصب القيادية محليا وعالمياً.

ملفات المناهج

تستخدم أكاديمية قطر منهجا تم تطويره خصيصا لتلبية المعايير الدولية واحتياجات طلابنا. يتم تدريس محتوى هذا المنهاج وتقييمه باستخدام الطرق التربوية التي تدعمها برامج البكالوريا الدولية. وفي أكاديمية قطرفإن دبلوم الباكالوريا يحتاج الى سنتان وهما الصفين 11 و 12. ويطلب من كل طالب أن يأخذ ستة مواد أكاديمية، وبالإضافة إلى ذلك يجب اتباع دورة لمدة عامين في نظرية المعرفة و كتابة مقال موسع و كذلك المشاركة في برنامج (الإبداع، العمل، الخدمة)
Language and literature
Language A literature SL/HL
Language A - language and literature SL/HL


Language acquisition
Language B SL/HL
Language ab initio SL

Individuals and societies
Business management SL/HL
Economics SL/HL
Geography SL/HL
History SL/HL
Information technology in a global society SL/HL
Sciences
Biology SL/HL
Chemistry SL/HL
Environmental systems and societies SL
Physics SL/HL

Mathematics
Further mathematics 
HL
Mathematical studies SL
Mathematics SL/HL

Arts

Film SL/HL
Music SL/HL
Theatre SL/HL
Visual arts SL/HL

All rel="noopener noreferrer" of the above are IB rel="noopener noreferrer" documents and are available at  www.ibo.org

pdf Diploma Handbook

برنامج السنوات المتوسطة

وُضع برنامج السنوات المتوسطة (MYP) في أكاديمية قطر بعناية فائقة لإعداد طلاب أكثر مراعاة للآخرين لديهم من الثقافة ما يمكنهم من الانفتاح على العالم وتحقيق التوازن في الحياة. مستعينين بمبادئهم التي يؤمنون بها ونظرتهم وتقييمهم لذاتهم. كما نسعى إلى تعليم شبابنا التفكير الناقد البناّء ونغرس فيهم حب الاستكشاف والبحث. ونحرص على أن يتحدث كل واحد منهم لغتين على الأقل حتى نعزز من مهارات التواصل لديهم. كما نشجعهم على خوض التحديات بشكل عقلاني ودون تهور.

تتجاوز تجارب الطلاب التعليمية حدود المنهاج الدراسي بالمقارنة مع نظرائهم في المدارس الأخرى حيث يتم إشراكهم في أكثر من 60 خدمة اجتماعية ونشاط رياضي وأكاديمي خارج أوقات الدوام. بالاضافة إلى منحهم فرصاً عديدة للسفر حول العالم ضمن برنامج "أسبوع بلا جدران". تضمن ملفات الطلاب الالكترونية والمؤتمرات التي يديرونها بأنفسهم تعزيز تركيز الطالب على التعلّم وتعمل على تشجيعهم على تحقيق الدرجات والمهارات الضرورية لإتمام دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية ودخول أرقى الجامعات في العالم. يدرس طلاب المرحلة المتوسطة ثمانية مواد تشمل: الفنون والعلوم الإنسانية واللغة (أ) واللغة (ب) والتربية البدنية والرياضيات والعلوم والتكنولوجيا، تضاف إليها الدراسات الإسلامية والعربية والثقافية التي تعتبر ضرورية لضمان إلمام جميع الطلاب بالجوانب المختلفة للثقافة المحلية.

يقوم معلمو برنامج المرحلة المتوسطة في الأكاديمية بالعمل بشكل تعاوني لإعداد الخطط وتقييم أداء الطلاب للتأكد من أن تلقي الطلاب للمعلومات واختيار الدرجات يتم بشكل دقيق ومنتظم، كما تتم معادلة الدرجة 7 في الصف العاشر بحيث تكون مساوية لدرجة (7) في أي مدرسة دبلوم بكالوريا دولية أخرى.

ساهم وجود 14 معلماً من ذوي الخبرة في نظام البكالوريا الدولية في جعل برنامج المرحلة المتوسطة في أكاديمية قطر برنامجاً رائداً في المنطقة، تطمح إلى تطبيقه جميع المدارس الأخرى.


ملفات المنهاج

تعتمد أكاديمية قطر منهاجاً تدريسياً تم تطويره خصيصاً ليتماشى مع المعايير العالمية واحتياجات طلابنا. يتم تدريس المنهاج وتقييمه باستخدام أساليب تربوية مدعومة ببرامج البكالوريا الدولية.

اللغة العربية (أ)
اللغة (B)
الفنون
اللغة الانجليزية (أ)
الدراسات الإسلامية
الرياضيات
التربية البدنية
العلوم
التكنولوجيا


pdf QAD MYP Handbook

خدمات الطلاب

 
يدعم قسم خدمات الطلاب جانب الاحتياجات الأكاديمية وذلك من خلال تعزيز كفاءة الطالب وتمكينه من تحقيق أفضل النتائج على المستوى الدراسي. تحرص أكاديمية قطر عند وضع برامج الدعم على مراعاة استقلالية الطالب وخصائصه الفردية التي تميزه عن الآخرين . كما يتم تقديم خدمات الدعم الدراسي للمواد، بالاضافة إلى برامج رعاية المتفوقين وبرامج لدعم الجوانب الاجتماعية والعاطفية والصحية للطالب.
يقدم قسم خدمات الطلاب دعماً مستمراً للطلاب في صفوف الروضة وحتى الصف الثاني عشر، يستعين القسم بأساليب متنوعة لتوفير الدعم للطلاب وأولياء الأمور والمعلمين. يتعامل القسم مع الطلاب الذين يواجهون صعوبات أكاديمية بسيطة أو حالات تأخر في اكتساب اللغة أو الطلاب الذين يتمتعون بقدرات فكرية عالية. لدينا اختصاصيون في مجال مراعاة الفروق الفردية، ومجال تدريس اللغة الانجليزية كلغة ثانية (ESL)، ومجال الإرشاد والتوجيه (المرشد الطلابي) ومجال تطوير مهارات الأطفال في مراحل النمو المبكرة، وفي مسائل متعلقة باللغة الأم، والموهبة بالفطرة، وعلم النفس التربوي بالاضافة إلى الرعاية الصحية التي توفرها ممرضات الأكاديمية.
كل هؤلاء يعملون يداً بيد لتوفير كافة الفرص الضرورية للطلاب ليتمكنوا من تطوير قدراتهم التعليمية. تتبع أكاديمية قطر أسلوب التعليم القائم على مراعاة الفروق الفردية وتشجيع التعليم الذي يلبي احتياجات الطلاب المختلفة، فبإدراك الفروقات بين الطلاب واحترامها وتقديرها ينجح المعلمون في الرفع من مستوى الخبرات التعليمية للطلاب مما يؤدي إلى تمكين الطلاب من تطوير أنفسهم وتعزيز دافعيتهم ورغبتهم في التعلم.
تتخذ خدمات الدعم الأكاديمي أشكالاً وطرقاً متعددة، ففي كل أسبوع يخصص للطلاب وقت بعد انتهاء الدوام للمشاركة في مقهى الواجبات (Homework Café) حيث يتلقى الطلاب مساعدة فردية من مدرسين متخصصين في حال رغب الطلاب بذلك، كذلك الأمر وبالتعاون مع جامعات رفيعة المستوى في الدوحة مثل جامعة كارنيجي ميلون (Carnegie Melon) يتطوع طلاب الجامعة لإرشاد طلاب الأكاديمية خلال جلسات مقهى الواجبات أو خلال البرامج التي تطبق بعد الدوام للطلاب الذين يتمتعون بقدرات فكرية عالية (TAP).
يحرص المرشد الطلابي على تنمية المهارات الاجتماعية والعاطفية التي تأتي ضمن برنامجي السنوات الإبتدائية والمتوسطة وذلك من خلال توفير دروس صفية أو أنشطة لتنمية المهارات على المستوى الفردي أو ضمن مجموعات صغيرة ، كما تنظم ورشات عمل لأولياء الأمور على امتداد العام الدراسي. كما يتم عقد اجتماعات مع أولياء الأمور لمناقشة الجانب الأكاديمي والنفسي للطالب.
ومع بدء الطلاب برنامج الدبلوم في الصف 11 و12 تزداد قيمة الخدمات التي يقدمها المرشد الطلابي في تحقيق النجاح الدراسي. خلال هاتين السنتين يعمل المرشدون بشكل فردي مع الطلاب للتأكد من استعدادهم للالتحاق بالجامعات وتقديم الدعم لهم. هذا وقد بلغ نسبة قبول طلاب أكاديمية قطر في الجامعات 100% وخلال السنوات الخمس الماضية التحق خريجو مدرستنا بجامعات على امتداد كل قارات العالم.
من برامجنا الحالية نذكر:
•  الاستشارات الأكاديمية
•  ندوات للتعرف على المهن
•  استشارات شخصية واجتماعية.
•  فريق دراسة الطفل/ فريق دراسة الطالب 
•  مساعدة الزملاء وبرامج سفراء الطلاب
•  مقهى الواجبات
•  التنسيق الثقافي والعائلي
•  ورشات عمل للتوجيه الجامعي، ومعارض وزيارات للجامعات
•  برنامج اكتشاف المواهب (TAP)
•  ورشات تثقيفية لأولياء الأمور
•  معهد (C-MITES) الصيفي
•  خدمات المجتمع
• قسم الممرضات